Mt. Withinme

I.
I have seen that mountain within me
And I lay across it, hard, unyielding
It hurt, felt like it would cleave me
In twain, under only the weight of my flesh
It was black, without intent.  What I brought to it
Is what hurt, is what applied the pressure
The weight of me on that razor edge
II.
As I watched it, felt it under me
And the waves broke upon it
Or swirling washed up over it
No effect one upon the other
And though it’s presence still hurt
Worse than a mattress pea
It somehow seemed to slip
Off to one side, unfed
And suddenly it was smaller
20160725

Please Leave a Reply

