Homely

Home
Has always pulled
At my heartstrings
Even in the house where I was raised
Though I didn’t really know it then
In some way I knew, beyond knowing,
For I could not have spoken of this, then,
that I needed to dive into that
So I’d play those sad homesick songs
Over and over, and I’d wallow in them
And that deep unexplainable longing

Now my mother has come into my house
Smoked on my deck and sat at my table,
Ate what I prepared through teary eyes
And helped, me washing dishes while She dried

Movement now in a deeper place
Punky core of this hollow tree
Finally falling away
I thought is was my heart
But this is deeper down
The dweller in the deep has been disturbed
And it will rouse and claim it’s throne
Its birthright

20161010

Please Leave a Reply

