Loss and love

I was so afraid of loss
That I would not get too close
Nor love too much
And as my grandparents slipped away
I learned how to shut down
And the distance between the stars grew larger

Then my aunt passed, to soon
And my cousin sank into despair
But at the bottom of that well
She heard her mother again
And climbed back into the light
Roles reversed, mother is inside

I watched all this in amazement
Did I ever really see either of them before?
Love, then, love is the answer!
To get so close, know another so completely
Grow close, intertwine, learn their heart
So they stay with you always

20161108
For Walter

5 thoughts on “Loss and love

  1. Congratulations, i have pick this post as my post of the week. That means I will read out the post on my radio show. Look out for the latest edition of ‘This Week’ on Friday for you to have a listen. Congratulations once more 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

