Temptation

i’ll keep my temptation
in my pocket
i will not deny it’s existence
or in a box lock it

when i think of giving in
the thrill of it fills me
so no need have i to submit to it
though i am not yet free

for i know it’s promises are hollow
temporary, empty.  and though i keep it
close to me,  Truth i hold closer still
and when it’s tugging, my mind hits

i see it without indulgence
feel how it feels, recognize it
and thus it has so little power
and in peace i still sit.

for Now is all around me
that temptation is full of Then
the hole within begins to close
and love i begin to ken

20161118

Please Leave a Reply

