Time for bed

That agony creeps up around the back of my eye
Looking to perch upon my pate
There should be joy full moon longest night
Light a candle light a fire
Or just curse the stupid darkness

Today the rip tide nearly got me
Helpless, despair melting underneath me
Yea I nearly drowned.
But I saw that horseman coming
And somehow managed to regain the shore

What should have been a victory, a triumph
Lay bedraggled cold and filthy in the sand
That I didn’t succumb will have to be enow
There will never be fruit of this labor
There is no hope in the future

There’s never enough to get it all done
Even sleep steals it away

20161213
http://dVersepoets.com

13 thoughts on “Time for bed

  1. Took me a few minutes to find the comment section! LOL I think the “agony” is creeping in behind my eye. Actually, this is a serious post….could be about depression, sadness, grief, writer’s block….that creeping sensation that grabs us like a vice and we try so hard, for achievement…and then, somehow, the day is done and we look back and say, what have we done? Oh the thoughts that your writing has stirred up in my head. That’s the mark of good writing, right? That it creates a reaction in the reader. And better yet still, a reaction that is like a pinball in the reader’s head and cascades into a myriad of thoughts….all from your words.
    Nicely done! You’ve got me thinking!!! So glad you posted to this prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, this one hits home, Eric. Particularly the lines:
    ‘Today the rip tide nearly got me
    Helpless, despair melting underneath me’
    and
    ‘There’s never enough to get it all done
    Even sleep steals it away’.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This stirred many emotions for me as well. It reminds me how easy it is to listen to that destructive voice that robs us. I suppose what it robs most is worth, for me, anyway.

    Lovely share. 💜

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

