My poetry betrays me

My poetry betrays me
Fancy words, about what flays me
Vocabulary lost in Joe Average’s ignorance
Topics defied by his ignore-ance

So my heart gets spread
Across pixellated ‘pages’
Like butter on toasted wry bread
And other poets I’ve read
Fluoresce where they have bled

Ideas evolve, develop and mount
Ever higher up the sacred mountain
Where I’ve climbed my self and pressed
My chest against the rock, beating

What can my coworkers know of this?
Inlaws? Or those concerned with actors, 
Fashion or football?  I’ve been vaulted
Out of that world of distractions
Betrayed by my own words

20161227

3 thoughts on “My poetry betrays me

Please Leave a Reply

