France and Us

I would build a bridge to France
for this gap has grown overwide.
Once, they put a statue here
on my front lawn, she stands there
still
But times have shifted
our opinions drifted
and an ocean has come between us

They saw a spark in me
and my declaration gave them hope
but when i failed
to walk that talk
they turned away from me
disappointed perhaps.
they may see in my bravado
a lack of gratitude
Though I came
when they couldnt’ even call
and spent a generation
against their north-western shore,
to give them, for real
what I only speak of for me

 

20170117

 

Please Leave a Reply

