Dove and pine

Alight! Alight! My dove, and write
Make your mark upon my heart
Imprint your feet upon my soul
I’ll be your roost when daylight fails
Catch your cooing in robust sails
my dove, my love, my pretty bird
Alight and let me hold you
through the cold and bitter night
Let’s make your nest here embowered
Above the springtide flowered
I’ll whisper songs of zephyr’s race
And hide you from the moons cold face
Soon you’ll need bring seeds and worms
From nearby fields and earthy berms
and so your generations turn
Tell your tale of enlighting
So write, my love of
A light

20170221
Today is Open Link Night over at the dVerse Poets Pub. Submit one poem of your choice. Come visit and read! http://dversepoets.com/2017/02/23/openlinknight-190/

11 thoughts on “Dove and pine

  1. Your poem is lyrical, Eric, with its pace rhymes. I do love the lines:
    ‘Make your mark upon my heart
    Imprint your feet upon my soul
    I’ll be your roost when daylight fails
    Catch your cooing in robust sails’.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

