How I know she loves me

Caramelizing onions scent fills 
The kitchen and spills out
Over the deck to where I’m working.  
My belly elates the instant 
I catch the first whiff, even
Before my mind can put the idea together.
Several hours later, at the dining room table
With a symphony in this precious bowl
tucked in, fairy like, under mushroom caps
Little notes of joy sing their savory song
Behind the beefy meaty morsels
The care with which she carved them
Tastes like glittering vermeer, 
No ingredient than the love she put into that pot.
I let it into me again and again, relishing
Spoonfuls of warmth and nourishment
Filling my belly and my soul

20170309

Please Leave a Reply

