The chicken and the lion

The little boy in me, 
the lions share even at this age,
Is yet not innocent enough
To let the lion out.
There is still enough. Fear in me
To leave the lion locked up.
And you know, I can’t blame him
The lion has been fierce and wild.
somehow I hope to teach him
Of the lions nobility.
For that I’ll need
The kings majesty.
Heh, but look inside and see,
The king can tame the wild warrior.
I thought the warrior was caged,
And the king abdicated.  But in wrighting this
Mayhap I’ve got the players mixed up.
Of course, the egg came first
The chicken was too afraid

20170827
http://PoetryBlogRoll.blogspot.com

12 thoughts on “The chicken and the lion

Please Leave a Reply

